Talk 2 The Animals: Do You Have Ants in the House?

Oh good grief. I was cleaning the kitchen the other day and when I grabbed the garbage to take it out, there was a pile of little ants under the sink. A BIG PILE of little ants. While I’ve had ants in my houses at other times in my life, this time it threw me for a loop because I hadn’t seen any evidence of ants in the kitchen before that. So I transported them outside as best I could and have since requested that they stay outside, not come inside.

They’re still appearing, so we’ll be conversing again. Meanwhile, with the help of Google, I learned that a forager ant will go out in search of food. When s/he finds a food source,  the path from the food to the nest is marked using a pheromone trail. Other ants, who smell with their antennae, then follow the path. Certain botanical scents interfere with these scent trails, among them some essential oils and vinegar. Here is the recipe I’ve been using which is definitely helping.

Vinegar Spray Recipe to Remove Ants

1/2 cup water
1/2 cup white or apple cider vinegar
30 drops of sweet orange essential oil (or lemon or grapefruit)

Shake the bottle, then spray around baseboards, entry points for ants and just about anywhere you’ve seen ants. Repeat every few days until ants are completely gone.

Awhile back, when I had the rescue experience with a spider in the shower, I was heartened by the comments people made about how they rescue the insects and small creatures that come across their paths. It truly does my heart good to see how people are reaching out to help our insect kin.

If you have a special tip for dealing with ants, insects, spiders – leave a comment and share!

Here’s To New Beginnings,

Janet


IF YOU ENJOYED THIS, YOU MAY LIKE THESE POSTS:

Do You Have Ants in Your House?

Animal Communication, Grasshoppers and Ants

from Janet Roper, Animal Communicator & Educator http://janetroper.com/ants-house-janet-roper-animal-communicator-educator-missoula-montana/
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

